Sarah Hubbell

1239391_10102858584071501_199094229_n

My sweet friend, Sarah, and I go way back. In my early high school days, Sarah was a former member of the speech and debate team at my school and I was lucky enough to learn some of the finer points of public speaking from her! Over the years, we’ve kept in touch and I’ve had the pleasure of watching both her career and life become pretty awesome. We asked Sarah about her work and life as part of our Rollin’ with the Homies series. Be sure to check out Emma Magazine for gorgeous images, impeccable styling, and drool-worthy food.

emma covers copy

So, you’re kind of a big deal. Tell us what you do at Emma and how the magazine came about.
Hardly haha! I am the editor and founder of Emma Magazine. The magazine grew out of my love for being a 50s housewife. Okay, not really, but I LOVE baking, nesting, and entertaining, so it was a natural extension of those things. Think if Martha were a 20-something.

Tell us a little about your creative process. How does a concept go from idea to reality?
Since we are a quarterly magazine, we think about the season as a whole. What do we like to eat during that season? How do we style our homes around it? Oftentimes, there’s a DIY I’ve been putting off for my own house, so we throw that in there too!

What is one feature from Emma that you really, really loved creating?
This past Thanksgiving was a fun one. It’s traditional turkey day fare, but with a Mexican twist. I love Thanksgiving food, but not everyone does, so it was fun to play with the menu and bring in some spice.

What do you hope to accomplish through Emma? Is there a message you’re looking to deliver? A movement you hope to start?
I love turning a house into a home, and breaking bread with people I love, so that’s really what Emma is about too. Creating the traditions, the smells, the feel of home.

What is your favorite part of your work?
Recipe testing

We’ve all got big dreams. What is something BIG that you’d love to see happen for Emma (or for you!)?
Hmm…lately I really love contributing to local morning shows, so I’d love to perhaps have a regular gig as a resident home expert!

hubbell_0046 copy

Alright! Enough about your fabulous job. Let’s hear more about you. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
I wanted to be a first grade teacher or a news anchor!

Where is your favorite local place to get a drink?
I like a good cocktail, but most of the time I stick to wine, and I often end up at Postino for that. If I’m grabbing a bottle to go, I head to French Grocery!

What’s your favorite show to binge-watch on Netflix?
House of Cards

How do you unwind at the end of a long day?
Making dinner! I love to cook. And dessert, of course.

Last but not least, what’s your favorite breakfast food?
I LOVE breakfast. I make a baked brioche French toast and drizzle with homemade bourbon caramel if I’m feel extra decadent. On the other end of the spectrum, I love breakfast burritos from hole-in-the-wall Mexican joints!

photo credits: Charity Maurer & Stancy Higley

Leave a Reply

